To determine who is liable for a car accident, a case may rely on the testimony of both drivers, the accounts of other witnesses, and different pieces of evidence. These elements are generally reliable for identifying a liable party in typical car accident cases. However, determining liability for a collision can be much more difficult if multiple vehicles were involved.
Evidence and Witnesses
As in any car accident case, the physical evidence and accounts of witnesses will be essential for establishing the facts of a multi-vehicle collision. With the input of witnesses — including those who were involved in the accident and those who were not — an accurate account of the events can be established. Expert witnesses can be especially helpful for determining liability for a multi-vehicle car accident. By looking at physical evidence from the collision, such as vehicle damage and injuries, accident reconstructionists can help put together the events of a collision.
Drivers who were involved in a multi-vehicle car accident may be able to offer additional evidence that can help establish liability. Maintenance receipts, medical records, and dash cam footage are some examples of additional evidence that may be helpful in a multi-vehicle collision case.
Comparative Negligence in South Carolina
In South Carolina, it is possible for multiple people to be held liable for a collision. Under the state’s comparative negligence laws, more than one party can be identified as liable, and the compensation of each liable party is reduced according to their degree of fault. This principle is helpful in determining liability for multi-vehicle car accidents.
To assign each party a degree of fault, the events of collision and each person’s negligence are evaluated. The percentage of fault is greater based on each person’s level of negligence; for example, severe instances of negligence are labeled as higher percentages. These percentages determine if, and by how much, the compensation of liable parties will be reduced. If a person is identified as 30% at fault and they incurred $100,000 in damages, their compensation would be reduced by $30,000 and they would receive $70,000 in compensation. People in South Carolina cannot be compensated for damages if they are found to be 51% or more at fault for a car accident.
If you or a loved one was injured in a car accident, contact Christian & Christian today. We will determine who is accountable for your injuries and help you recover the compensation you deserve.
For a free consultation with our lawyers, send us a message or call (864) 408-8883.